Democracy



This workshop convened on December 12th and 13th, 1996, in Rome. The Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace offered its facilities to host the conference. It was attended on the part of the Pontifical Academy by Professor Edmond Malinvaud (Paris), President of the Academy; Professor Margaret Archer (Coventry); Professor Mary Ann Glendon (Cambridge, Mass.); Judge Nicholas John McNally (Harare); Professor René Rémond (Paris); Professor Johannes Schasching S.J. (Vienna); Professor Michel Schooyans (Louvain); Professor Hanna Suchocka (Warsaw); Dr. Bedrich Vymetalik (Frydek-Mistek); Professor Hans F. Zacher (Munich); Professor Pier Luigi Zampetti (Genova); and Professor Paulus Mzomuhle Zulu (Durban); on the part of the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace, by its Secretary, Msrg. Diarmuid Martin, and his Under-secretary, Msrg. Giampaolo Crepaldi; and as additional experts, by Professor Carlos Alberto Floria (Buenos Aires/Paris) and Professor Wilfrido V. Villacorta (Manila). Also the President of the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace, Cardinal Roger Etchegaray, was present at some of the meetings.

The reports presented there and the summary of the discussions that took place are to serve as a basis for future deliberations on democracy in the Pontifical Academy of Social Sciences and perhaps also in the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace. Nevertheless they will also prove useful for other studies and exchanges of ideas concerning democracy — whether these are of a scientific or practical nature; whether they are motivated by specifically Christian issues or prompted by a particular responsibility of the Church, or whether they are of a general nature. It therefore seems appropriate to publish the negotiations and findings of the workshop in such a form as to make them available not only to the Pontifical Academy of Social Sciences, but also to a wider public.

The Working Group owes deep gratitude to the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace and especially to its President, Cardinal Roger Etchegaray, its Secretary, Msrg. Diarmuid Martin and the Council's staff, for the warm and generous hospitality and the manifold technical assistance the workshop enjoyed not only during the meeting but also concerning the translations of the texts.

The Academy has to thank all the authors for agreeing to the publication of their contributions. Special thanks are due to the foreign experts, Professor Carlos Alberto Floria and Professor Wilfrido V. Villacorta. Nevertheless the responsibility for all contributions of the proceedings solely lies with their authors and not with the Academy.

Hans F. Zacher
Chairman of the Working Group

© Thu Mar 14 11:36:02 CET 2024 - The Pontifical Academy of Social Sciences