Deceased Academicians

AVERINTSEV Serguei (10 December 1937, +21 February 2004), Professor of Philology at the Institute for Slavistics at the University of Vienna. He was a Member of the Academy of Sciences in Russia, of the Academia Europaea and of the Académie Universelle des Cultures. He had received the Russian State Prize for Letters (1991), the 'Triumph' Prize (1992), a Honorary Doctorate in Ecclesiastical Studies awarded by the Pontifical Oriental Institute in Rome (1992) and the Leopold Lukas Prize (1995). He was appointed Pontifical Academician on 19 January 1994.

IM Luke Jinchang (9 October 1937, +26 June 1994), Professor of the Social Doctrine of the Church at Sogang University, Seoul, and Vice President of the Korean Catholic Social Science Research Association. He was honoured by His Holiness Pope Paul VI with the Silver Medal Award for his doctoral dissertation at the Pontifical Gregorian University in 1968. He was appointed Pontifical Academician on 19 January 1994.

MALINVAUD Edmond (25 April 1923, +7 March 2015) Professor of Economics and first President of the PASS (1994-2000). He was appointed Pontifical Academician on 1 January 1994.

RÉMOND René (30 September 1918, +14 April 2007), was a French historian and political economist. He was the Secretary General of Jeunesses Étudiantes Catholiques (JEC France in 1943) and a member of the International YCS Center of Documentation and Information in Paris, presently the International Secretariat of International Young Catholic Students (IYCS). The author of books on French political, intellectual and religious history, he was elected to the Académie française in 1998. He was appointed Pontifical Academician on 19 January 1994.

SCHASCHING Johannes (10 March 1917, +20 September 2013), professor of social economics. He was appointed Pontifical Academician on 19 January 1994.

SKUBISZEWSKI Krzysztof (8 October 1926, +8 February 2010), was a Polish politician, a former Minister of Foreign Affairs (1989-1993) and an established scholar in the field of international law. He served in the cabinets of Tadeusz Mazowiecki, Jan Krzysztof Bielecki, Jan Olszewski and Hanna Suchocka and was the first Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Third Republic of Poland. An acclaimed international lawyer, he served as the President of the Iran-United States Claims Tribunal from 16 February 1994 until his death. He was awarded with the Order of the White Eagle, Poland's highest state decoration. He was appointed Pontifical Academician on 8 October 2002.

TIETMEYER Hans (18 August 1931, +27 December 2016), Fifth President of the German Bundesbank. He was appointed Pontifical Academician on 19 January 1994.

UTZ Arthur Fridolin, O.P. (15 April 1908, +18 October 2001), Professor of Ethics and Social Philosophy at the University of Fribourg since 1945 and President of the International Institute of Social and Political Sciences. He was Member of the Council of the Foundation for the Promotion of the Social Sciences. He was appointed Pontifical Academician on 19 January 1994.

ZACHER Hans (22 June 1928, +18 February 2015) Doctor Iuris. Fields: Public Law; International Law and Comparative Social Law (Law of the Welfare State). He was appointed Pontifical Academician on 19 January 1994.

ZAMPETTI Pier Luigi (29 March 1927, +1 November 2003), Professor of Public Law, Sociology and Social Philosophy at the University of Genoa. He was Founder Member of the Italian Association for State Theory, Member of the National Academy of Law and Social Sciences of Córdoba (Argentina) and President of the Committee for Juridical Reform and Administration of Justice. He was also Dean of the Faculty of Political Sciences at the University of Trieste and Professor Honoris Causa of the Catholic University of Salta (Argentina). In 1981 he was appointed Member of the Consiglio Superiore della Magistratura (Senior Council of Magistrates). He was appointed Pontifical Academician on 19 January 1994, and was Councillor from 1994 to his death.

ZIOLKOWSKI Janusz (6 April 1924, +5 April 2000), Emeritus Professor of Sociology at the University of Poznan. He studied at the universities of Poznan, Liverpool and London. Delegate of the Commission of Economic Planning at Poznan Municipal Office from 1949 to 1956, he taught sociology at the University of Poznan from 1957 to 1994. Author of many books and articles, he was Director of the UNESCO Research Center on Social and Economic Development in Delhi (1965-67), (1972-80), President of the Research Committee on the Sociology of Regional and Urban Development, the International Association (1970-1974) and Vice Chancellor (Rector) of the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan (1980-1981), Senator of the Republic of Poland from 1983 to 1989, Minister of State and Head of the Chancellery of the President of the Republic of Poland from 1991 to 1995. Member of the Polish Episcopal Conference of Justice and Peace. He was appointed Pontifical Academician on 22 December 1997.

ZUBRZYCKI Jerzy Benedict (12 January 1920, +20 May 2009), was a Polish-born Australian sociologist. He was known as a prominent academic, intellectual father of Australian multiculturalism, and the founding professor of sociology at the Australian National University. In 1970 he was appointed inaugural Professor and Head of the newly formed Sociology Department, and served with distinction as its Founding Professor until his retirement in 1986. He also held the position of President of the Sociological Association and editor of The Australian and NZ Journal of Sociology. He was awarded in 1978 the Order of the British Empire (CBE) and in 1984 the Order of Australia (OA). He was appointed Pontifical Academician on 19 January 1994.


2010 Yearbook

Fourth Edition Extra Series 16 Vatican City, 2010 ISBN 978-88-86726-26-9 pp. 143 ... Read more

2004 Yearbook

Third Edition Vatican City, 2004 ISBN 88-86726-24-4 pp. 164 ... Read more

2000 Year Book

Second Edition Vatican City, 2000 ISBN 88-86726-05-08 pp. 249 ... Read more

1995 Year Book

First Edition Vatican City, 1995 ISBN 88-86726-09-0 pp. 197 (out of print) ... Read more

©2012-2014 The Pontifical Academy of Social Sciences

Share Mail Twitter Facebook